dedicated to Chamber Music COMPOSITION “Giampaolo Coral Award”

15th March and 22nd October 2018

The International Competition “Premio Trio di Trieste” 2018 presents the XIX edition dedicated to DUO, TRIO and QUARTET (exclusively for string instruments and piano) compositions “Giampaolo Coral Award”.

The Associazione Chamber Music, in collaboration with Accademia Chigiana di Siena and with the support of Conservatorio of Trieste “G. Tartini” and of Chromas – Associazione Musica Contemporanea, is pleased to organize the 19th International Competition “Premio Trio di Trieste” 2018 – Chamber Music Composition for Duos, Trios and Quartets (string instruments and piano) in honour of the composer Giampaolo Coral. The aim of the contest is to increase the contemporary repertoire for Duos, Trios and Quartets and broaden and stimulate the compositions for small chamber music groups.

The First Prize is a Special Commission born by the multi-year project with Assicurazioni Generali.

Article 1 The purpose of the contest is the composition of 5 short unpublished pieces for Duos (violin and piano, viola and piano, cello and piano), for Trio (violin, cello and piano) and for Quartet (violin, viola, cello, piano).

Pieces should last between 4 and 5 minutes each. They cannot exceed 5 minutes each.

The final work, unpublished, will have to be the elaboration of a unique thematic idea for the 5 formations.

Electronic instruments are not allowed.

Article 2 – The Competition will consists of 2 fases:

FIRST FASE: SELECTION of a candidate based on a repertoire chamber music composition with piano written by applicants. The composition should be representative of the style of the applicants. The piece can be already performed and published. Maximum number of instruments: 13.

Pieces must be sent exclusively by e-mail to the Secretary of the Competition at in PDF file, not later than MARCH 15th , 2018.

Each applicant is allowed to send only one piece.

Among all scores received not later than March 15th 2018, the Jury will select the best composer who will be asked to compose and send, by e-mail in PDF file, 5 short unpublished pieces for the three Duo ensembles (violin/piano, viola/piano and cello/piano), for Trio (violin/cello/piano) and for Quartet (violin/viola/cello/piano). The composer chosen by the Jury, will therefore be contacted by e-mail and his/her name will be published on our website and on our Facebook page, not later than April 5th, 2018.

SECOND FASE: The composer chosen by the Jury will be required to send by e-mail the 5 unpublished works obligatorily not later than OCTOBER 15th 2018. Submitted scores must not have been published nor performed in a public concert, and they cannot have been used or posted on websites, social networks or other mass media before the Award Ceremony that will take place on Monday, October 22nd 2018, during a public concert.

The winner compositions will be included in the program of the 2019 “Premio Trio di Trieste” Competition as compulsory pieces, and therefore performed by the participants to that contest at RAI studios and other venues in Trieste, as evidenced by Art. 6.

Article 3The Competition is open to composers of all nationalities under the age of 40 as on December 31st 2018.

In order to apply for the First fase (selection), participants must send by e-mail to the Competition Secretary Office ( not later than March 15th, 2018 (deadline) the following papers:

1. Application form, filled and signed in each of its parts with full name, address (phone number, fax, e-mail)

2. Copy of the bank transfer receipt as proof of payment of the application fee.

The application fee is € 30,00 (thirty euros) to be paid by bank transfer to:

Associazione Chamber Music – Via S. Nicolò 7 – Trieste

IBAN: IT 05 Q 08928 02204 010000030380


ZKB – Banca di Credito Cooperativo del Carso – Via S. Spiridione 7 – Trieste

Please note that application fees are non-refundable. Associazione Chamber Music does not account

or have any liability for any participants’ bank fees or charges, which must be paid by the participants.

The winner composer must send by e-mail, not later than OCTOBER 15th 2018, the following papers:

  1. Two recent close-up photographs;

  2. Curriculum Vitae;

  3. PDF file of the unpublished pieces;

  4. A description of the motivations or suggestions that inspired the composition

  5. Signed declaration that the compositions are still unpublished.

The winner composer have to abide by the terms mentioned above. Failure to do so may result in disqualification. Each paper must be written in one of the official languages of the Competition (Italian or English) and in capital letters.

Article 4 – The International Jury will consist of 5 (five) members and will vote online.

The President of the Jury, Azio Corghi (Italy), will be in Trieste on Monday, October 22nd 2018 to declare the winner and to deliver him the Prize.

Azio Corghi Presidente Italia
Alberto Caprioli Italia
Philippe Hersant Francia
Magnus Lindberg Finlandia
Fabio Nieder Italia/Germania (membro designato dal Conservatorio di Trieste).

Should an individual member of the Jury be prevented for any reason, he/she may be replaced by another suitable person at short notice.

Upon taking office, any juror having or having had a familial or private teaching relationship with a participant during the two years preceding the competition must disclose such relationship, and shall be dismissed. In case of public teaching relationships during the two years preceding the competition, the juror must declare such relationship and shall abstain from voting on that participant’s performance. (Official Gazette of the Italian Republic No.10, 5 December 1994, art. 15/2 c). The decisions of the Jury are unappelleable.

Article 5 – The “Premio Trio di Trieste” prize amounts to € 9.000,00 (nine thousand euros) and the Special Prize of € 4.000,00 (four thousand euros), offered by Monika Verzar Coral, is added to it.

The Prizes will be delivered on October 22nd, 2018 at Verdi Theatre, Victor de Sabata Concert Hall.

Article 6 – The 5 award-winning compositions will become the Compulsory Pieces to be performed by the participants of the 20th International Competition “Premio Trio di Trieste”, and they will be performed for the first time in public in September 2019 during the Second Round of the Contest and at the Winners’ Concert.

The award-winning compositions will also be executed during the 2020 “Premio Trio di Trieste” Winners’ Tour in at least 5 different venues: it will be included in the following Festival programs (still to be defined):

  • Micat in Vertice” organized by Accademia Chigiana, Siena (Italy)

  • Concert season 2020, organized by Associazione Chamber Music, Trieste (Italy)

  • TriestePrima Festival, Trieste (Italy)

  • Contemporary Music Festival, Ljubljana (Slovenia)

  • Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst, Graz (Austria)

This will give the composer great visibility among musicians, Music School teachers and specialized magazines in Italy and abroad.

The award-winning compositions will be published by Rugginenti Editore s.r.l. – Music Publisher, unless other ongoing exclusive publishing agreements. The scores must be provided to the Publishing Company in electronic format.

Article 7 – By signing the Composition Competition Application Form, the participant unconditionally agrees and accepts all the rules and regulations in effect as of the submission date.

Article 8 – In the event of disagreement or difference in opinion concerning the rules, the only valid text will be the original text in Italian, made of 8 (eight) articles. Any dispute or controversy arising from the competition will be settled by the Court of Trieste.

For further information, please contact our office:

International Competition “Premio Trio di Trieste”

Associazione Chamber Music

via S. Nicolò 7 – 34121 TRIESTE

Phone/Fax: + 39 040 3480598 –